Beware Googling Health Issues

I Googled the dangers of using Google to learn about health issues and sure enough, up popped a whole lot of warnings about how it might be hazardous to health.

One witty article cuts to the chase with the opening  “Since I’m a hypochondriac, every minor pain I suffer is invariably life threatening.  Every headache is a brain tumor. Every bout of indigestion is either stomach cancer or angina.  Every sore throat means I’ll need to have my larynx removed and wear one of those gizmos that’ll make me sound like Stephen Hawking, only it won’t make me any smarter.”

Then I found an article about the perils of googling when you are pregnant

“Pregnant? Did you know that loud concerts could damage your baby’s hearing? That some eye-drops could lead to birth defects? Or that long periods spent at high altitude could reduce your baby’s birth weight?

And don’t stress, as even mild levels of stress can affect foetal brain development.

How do I know all this? Because ever since the appearance of the blue line on the home pregnancy test, I have suffered from a common but poorly understood prenatal condition: Gestational Googlemania. It is a debilitating illness, characterised by the compulsive need to ask the internet about every conceivable pregnancy danger.”

rest of article

Sometimes a quick look at Google can save you from bundling the kids into the mini van for a trip to the Emergency Centre but generally it is wise to be cautious and protect your health by not looking up too much.

One response to “Beware Googling Health Issues”

  1. Pelican1 says :

    I can’t watch medical dramas and documentaries for the same reason.

Leave a Reply

