Why Bother Blogging?

When I was teaching classes filled with students who tested all my ‘rules of engagement’ skills I invariably spent time examining reasons why we should be bothered writing in daily journals.

Tristan Rainer, in her New Diary provided a guiding hand. I remember having a printed sheet with some of her points such as journals providing a healthful release for feelings and tension; a place to advise yourself; a place to gain clarity and to make decisions; a place to rehearse future behavior and so on.

This article in the Bellingham Herald provides some good reasons why a would be writer should bother keeping a blog. I still smile when I remember Mike Browne’s blog about his lunch box. I had a whole project where students became lunch box spies and interviewed ancillary and teaching staff about what was in their lunch box. Insane maybe! But Browne did establish a profile for himself.

4 responses to “Why Bother Blogging?”

  1. Pelican1 says :

    Blogging came into my life at just the right (write) time.

  2. imogen88 says :

    Nice one, Heather, and I remember reading your articles on Lunch Box Spies, etc. Good fun, and I think blogs are great too, even if we question sometimes what we are doing. Maybe it makes us value them more? It’s good stuff.

  3. Edith says :

    Hi Heather, I have just presented you with the Liebster blog award by singling you out for a very special presentation. Check out my blog post here http://inaroomofmyown.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/the-liebster-blog-award/ to read all about it!!! Lots and lots of love and hugs!! xxx

  4. Anita Marie says :

    Reblogged this on Irregular Bones and commented:
    Good thought.

Leave a Reply

