From the Time Capsule

A million years ago, or was it only yesterday in digital time, Priscilla, Queen of Cyber Space, set out on a secret mission. We all learned so much during those fun days as she travelled around the world, being hosted by people all over the United States and in Europe. Her blog provides an insight into just what a wonderful time she had during those heady days.

For those who remember I thought we might just travel down memory lane and remind ourselves of how much nous it showed to learn through play.

The Wild Garden was a celebration of elearning back in 2005. The landscape has changed significantly but the foundations that were set in place then remain in place even now.

Looking back  upon the landscape of the Soul Food Cafe and the projects that were undertaken the power of Networked Knowledge and Combinatorial Knowledge become very evident.

For some current ideas about eLearning check out these tips.

13 responses to “From the Time Capsule”

  1. Pelican1 says :

    Oh, my goodness. That was a trip down memory lane. I so remember Priscilla!

  2. Pelican1 says :

    In answer to Heather’s question, this was right in the middle of my learning how to find my own voice and to not be afraid to put my thoughts out there. Priscilla’s magic was quite potent.

  3. imogen88 says :

    Yes, I agree with Lori, each person’s own expression of each adventure became their voice. All of these activities showed how story can be told and participated in, no matter where we are in the world. using these modern tools. Age was no barrier either. We learned how to work with each other too, and collaborate using the blogs. It’s all very rich material when you look back, and Priscilla going around the world like that is really something amazing, and the effect she had on people showed that people like this kind of collaboration.

  4. woodnymph says :

    Oh, how well I remember Priscilla. In fact, if you look closely at my picture you will see I am holding her. She and I had a great time while she was here. She was an instant hit with all my friends and neighbors in the gated community where I live. Matter of fact she had the run of the place. 🙂 Please give her a hug for me.

    Vi

  5. Carol aka traveller says :

    I loved showing Priscilla bits of my world and we met lots of interesting people on our travels. After she left a friend of mine gave me my own Priscilla to remind me of what a fun character she was.

  6. Jane (She Wolf) says :

    Wow. I learned so very much here – I found my voice and discoved that I could share my stories through my writing. And with Priscilla, I learned about Web 2.0 – and that ended up translating into the web and computer skills that got me my current day (non-writing) job, something for which I’ll always be grateful. I think it’s safe to say the Soul Food, and all of the people here, have been a major influence in my personal growth and skills development as an adult.

  7. Heather Blakey says :

    How fabulous Jane. Thank you so much for sharing what you learned and the impact it all had.

Leave a Reply

