Facing the Dark Side

This morning I was browsing through The Age and stumbled upon an article about the dark underbelly of the web.

If I were still working, on a daily basis, with students, I would be using articles like this as a part of clear thinking exercises. I would also be using them to talk about how, just as we should be wary of all sorts of dubious people walking around, in clear daylight, here on earth, so we need to be wary of a percentage of the cyber population.

It is just nous that we educate the population about the darker aspects of society, as it presents itself on earth and in cyber space.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Facing the Dark Side”

  1. Sally says :

    Heather, this is something that I never thought of really and am glad you brought it up. My daughter is looking for places to rent in San Francisco and, in doing so, got an email that tried to scan her. Is this what we have become? Targets for all sorts of dark forces?

  2. Pelican1 says :

    After navigating the cyber-realm for way over a decade, I can tell you with absolute certainty that the internet is filled with some seriously disturbed people. It is scary and in some ways I am glad I don’t have children. I would be worried sick over who they might encounter.

  3. woodnymph says :

    There is so much good about the Internet, but there are those unsavory characters whose aim in life is to spoil that which is good. We need to be as alert on while in the Internet as we are walking through a dark parking lot to our car. It’s a shame, but that’s the way it is. And, Pelican, I agree 100% with you in that I am glad I don’t have children or grandchildren…I would be a nervous wreck every time they were out of my sight.

    Vi

Leave a Reply

