Perception of Self

“When events appear to fit together perfectly in our lives it may seem at first that they are random occurrences, things that are the result of coincidence. These synchronous happenings, though, are much more than that, for, if we look at them more closely they can show us that the universe is listening to us and gently communicating with us. Learning to pay attention to and link the things that occur on a daily basis can be a way for us to become more attuned to the fact that most everything happens in our lives for a reason – even when that reason is not clear right away.”
Daily Om

I could have been fooled and thought that an encounter with a total stranger in Vinnies (our local charity store) was a random occurrence that had nothing to do with anything.

However, the meeting was so out there that I could not help but pay attention, pull out my tuning fork, listen and take a moment to ponder upon what exactly the universe was showing and telling me.

Colleen and I met amid the clothes racks. She asked if the baby blue top would suit her and gauged from my look that it was not right for her. The other, earth colored top, was, however, just right and I told her so.

Before I knew it we were ‘shopping together’, checking out pieces, advising one another. She found a red flannel shirt, told me how she had once had a collection of them and insisted that it really would be perfect for me to lounge around the house in. Given that I have always loved, but never found the right one, this was pretty amazing by itself.

In between discussing colors and admiring one another as we tried on things I learned a lot about Colleen. She said that it seemed odd that she tells people she does not have any friends when she does have lots of acquaintances, that she is not close to her family but sees them, that her cat is her very best friend.

I offered to be her new best friend and we hugged and generally made lots of noise, oblivious to what else was going on in the shop.

Colleen bought her top and I spent $5 on the two pieces she deemed perfect for me, pieces that would give me extra color and life.

After she had gone the woman behind the counter was stunned when she learned that we had only just met, that we had not come into the shop together, while another woman, who had clearly been observing the play that was enacted before her, dryly commented that it had all been quite an experience.

Colleen and I had been noticed.

Colleen is one of those people that injects energy into everyone around her. All too many people have an innate capacity to pull out the sink plug and drain everyone of energy. Others are a calming influence.

So what was the universe telling me today? I confess I am still wondering. But I did have a feeling that it was holding up a mirror for me, showing me aspects of myself and who I am.

2 responses to “Perception of Self”

  1. Pelican1 says :

    I read somewhere that it is very hard for people over a certain age to make new friends. I am glad that you have proved that assertion wrong.

  2. Anita Marie says :

    I’ve had some blah, rough days and there have been times where I got into a conversation or ended up spending time with a person when I was just not into it first and realized at the end of the visit that was a blessing- how much I needed to have my spirits lifted- and it happened.

    I’ve always wondered about those ‘chance meetings’

Leave a Reply

